Photo Stream IV

It’s that time again: another round of Photo Stream! August and September 2015 this time.

One of the things I really love about the University of Nottingham is the lush, beautifully-tended grounds. During summer, there are flowers around every corner, it seems. The sight of them—especially roses—always makes me think of my Mom, and I snapped a few shots to share with her.

Pink roses at on University of Nottingham campus.
Pink roses at on University of Nottingham campus. © 2015 by Katrina Wilkins.
Red roses on University of Nottingham campus.
Red roses on University of Nottingham campus. © 2015 by Katrina Wilkins.
Red roses on University of Nottingham campus.
Red roses on University of Nottingham campus. © 2015 by Katrina Wilkins.

Flowers aren’t the only gorgeous plants on campus, though. This lovely bush is just outside one of the entrances to the Trent Building, where I work:

Bush on University of Nottingham campus.
Bush on University of Nottingham campus. © 2015 by Katrina Wilkins

The funny thing about having a skylight in your room is that sometimes the pigeons perch on it and won’t be shooed away. So you take their picture instead.

Pigeon perching on my skylight.
Pigeon perching on my skylight. © 2015 by Katrina Wilkins.

And one thing you have to at least be aware of in England, even if you don’t always understand it, is that Cockney slang is everywhere to be found. On this poster in the local shopping mall, a puppy advertises for the ad company with slogan, “Give us a dog ‘n’ bone.” The phrase “dog ‘n’ bone” is Cockney rhyming slang for “telephone,” so this phrase means something like, “Give us a ring.”

Cockney rhyming slang in a marketing ad.
Cockney rhyming slang in a marketing ad. © 2015 by Katrina Wilkins.

On my way to Glasgow for a conference in August, I noticed this sign on a trash bin in the bathroom of the train. Having recently come from another conference, in which I attended a presentation on the use of first-person for inanimate objects, I couldn’t help taking a photo:

Feed me sign on a trash bin in the train bathroom.
“Feed me” sign on a trash bin in the train bathroom. © 2015 by Katrina Wilkins.

During that conference, I spent a fair amount of time walking around Glasgow, and I really enjoyed these signs encouraging drivers to slow down in residential areas:

Twenty’s plenty! Street sign in Glasgow.
Twenty’s plenty! Street sign in Glasgow. © 2015 by Katrina Wilkins.

Sometime in September, my housemate’s family came to visit. When they had left for dinner, I noticed that our kitchen counter was covered in used teacups and realized that this a sign of a good hostess in England. Lydia kept offering her family tea every half-hour or so, and they had taken her up on it most gratefully!

Teacups: a sign of true hospitality.
Teacups: a sign of true hospitality. © 2015 by Katrina Wilkins.
Leave a Reply

